Christina Manning -OSU Dominate Relays At Jesse Owens Classic

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

WTRK: Buckeyes put on strong showing at Jesse Owens Classic


The Ohio State women’s track and field team put on a strong showing at a rainy Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium Saturday afternoon. Even in the wet and cooler conditions, several Buckeyes turned in PR’s and first-place performances in front of the home fans. Here is a breakdown of the day’s events:

100m Hurdles:


: Christina Manning won the race with a time of 13.06, the ninth best in Division I this season. Chelsea Carrier-Eades (13.37) from West Virginia claimed second and Cassandra Lloyd (13.60) of Wright State came in third. Alexandria Johnson and Christienne Linton finished seventh and ninth, respectively.

400m Hurdles

: Junior Nyjah Cousar took first with a time of 58.98. Chelsea Carrier-Eades of West Virginia claimed second with a time of 59.02. Jaelynn Pryor of Michigan State finished third. Senior Jewelisa Thompson finished eighth with a time of 1:04.72.

Long Jump

: Freshman Abie Ehimwenman claimed fourth with a jump of 5.97m/19-07. Leah Eber of Purdue came in first after jumping 6.45m/21-02. Uhunoma Osazuwa (Unattached) and Stormy Nesbit (West Virginia) took second and third.

Triple Jump

: Ehimwenman claimed third with a jump of 12.02m/39-05.25. Tori Franklin (12.20m/40-00.50) of Michigan State took first and Caroline Ehrhardt (12.11m/39-08.75) of London-Western finished second.

Shot Put

: Norianna Brown of Ohio State came in fourth with a throw of 15.05m (51-7). Zara Northover (15.72m/51-5.50) from Central Park finished first while Nia Henderson (unattached) claimed second. Dani Bunch of Purdue took third.

Hammer Throw

: Senior Maggie Mullen claimed first with a PR throw of 59.84m/196-04, the fifth best in school history. Alexis Thomas finished fourth with a throw of 57.57m/188-10. Brooke Pleger (unattached) and Jessica Rowland from Findlay finished second and third, respectively.

High Jump:


Ashley Galbraith won the event in her final showing at Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium. She bested the field with a jump of 1.70m, edging Sydney Cummings of West Virginia who leaped 1.65m.

100m Dash

: Ohio State took second and third. Madison McNary claimed second with a time of 11.77. Chesna Sykes finished third (11.86) and Miana Griffiths (unattached) took first place with a time of 11.69.

200m Dash

: Freshman Aisha Cavin finished first with a time of 24.24. Michigan State claimed second and third as Alicia Evans came in second with a time of 24.42 and TeJuanna Williams finished third with a time of 24.56.

400m Dash

: Senior Shaniqua McGinnis claimed fifth with a time of 54.18. First place went to Mary Wineberg of NYAC. Shantavia Williams of Eastern Michigan and Alysson Bodenbach of Michigan State took second and third. Jacqueline Dim finished tenth.

800m Run

: Freshman Katie Betts finished fifth with a time of 2:12.75. Kathy Klump (2:09.36) of Cincinnati took first. Kari Shoolbraid of Purdue and Steph Tinney (unattached) claimed second and third.

4x100m Relay

: The Ohio State team of McNary, Manning, Chesna Sykes and Christienne Linton won with a time of 44.55, followed by Eastern Michigan (45.80) and Michigan State (46.23).

4x400m Relay

: Aisha Cavin, Alexandria Johnson, Nyjah Cousar and McGinnis won the relay with a time of 3:45.12. Eastern Michigan finished a close second with a time of 3:45.21. Cincinnati claimed third with a time of 3:45.55.


MTRK: Buckeyes Put a Wrap on the 27th Jesse Owens Track Classic

Ohio State claims wins in six events


The Ohio State men’s track and field team put a wrap on the 27th edition of the Jesse Owens Track Classic Saturday afternoon at a rain-soaked Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.

The Buckeyes earned wins in a total of six events, including victories in both the 4x100m and 4x400m relays. Despite the steady rain, the meet was complete on time and without interruption.

Here’s an event-by-event recap of the 2012 Classic:


A time of 10.75 helped freshman

Timothy Faust to a win in the 100m. Purdue’s Mario Cosey was the runner-up in 10.79, with DeAndre Davis rounding out the Top 3 with a time of 10.83.

110m Hurdles

Demoye Bogle

turned a third-place time of 14.16 in his first race of the season. First place went to unattached competitor Jeff Porter (13.67), followed by Brice Myers of California (Pa.) in 14.03.


Faust (21.80) fell .3 seconds shy of pulling off the 100-200 sweep, placing second behind Purdue’s Cosey (21.77). Third place went to

Taylor Weary in a time of 22.09.


Marvel Brooks

captured the win for the Buckeyes in a time of 47.64. Runner-up honors went to Cincinnati’s Darnell Gilbert (47.82), while Keith Cleveland placed third (47.92).

400m Hurdles

The Buckeyes swept the top-4 spots in the event.

Antonio Blanks took home the title in 52.56 seconds, followed by Luke Norris (52.74), Marcus Brooks (52.78), and Demoye Bogle (53.90).


Josh George of Eastern Michigan posted the top time in the 800, crossing the finish line in 1:51.55 for the victory. Unattached competitor Ian Boyle was the runner-up in 1:51.69, followed by Miami Valley’s Sam Borchers (1:51.69).

Dan White placed sixth for the Buckeyes in 1:52.15.

Mile Run


Cory Leslie got the best of a competitive field in the mile run, finishing first with a time of 4:01.99, third best in OSU outdoor history. Former Buckeye Rob Myers placed second in 4:06.99, followed by Dan Huling (4:09.15) and Josh Sabo (4:14.10).

Long Jump

Ohio State placed two athletes in the Top 3. All-American

Michael Hartfield placed second in his first meet of the year with a jump of 7.45m (24-5.50) and Korbin Smith took third at 7.33m (24-0.75). London Western’s Taylor Stewart took the title at 7.48m (24-6.50).

High Jump

Purdue’s Geoff Davis was the winner at 2.10m (6-10.75). Michigan State’s Kevin Jackson and unattached competitor Nigel Preacher tied for second at 2.00m (6-6.75).


Pole Vault

Michigan State’s Derik Peterman claimed first place at 5.05m (16-0.75).

Heath Nickles and Cody Marshall tied for second.

Shot Put

Matt DeChant

(18.38m/60-3.75) and Tyler Branch (16.81m/55-2) turned in a 2-4 finish for the Scarlet and Gray. Second Sole’s Kurtis Roberts earned the win with a 19.16m (62-10.50) toss, while Findlay’s Derrick Vicars placed third (18.25m/59-10.50).

Hammer Throw

Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium and meet-record holder A.G. Kruger won the hammer throw with a 74.40m (244-1) heave. Ryan Loughney (67.37m/221 ft.) and Garrett Grey (64.09m/210-3) finished 2-3 for Ashland, respectively.

Max Mays turned in a sixth-place mark of 60.56m (198-8) for Ohio State.

4x100m Relay

Ohio State took home the win in a time of 40.94, followed by Eastern Michigan (41.82) and Cincinnati (42.48).

4x400m Relay

Running without All-American anchor

Thomas Murdaugh, Ohio State still cruised to an easy win in the 4×4 with a time of 3:12.66. Purdue was the runner-up in 3:19.09, followed by 3:24.06.

Ohio State is scheduled to compete at the Mt. SAC Relays in Walnut, Calif., April 19-21 and at the All-Ohio championships in Oxford, Ohio, April 20-21. ###

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>